A- A+

DSM Opportunity Zones

What are Opportunity Zones?

An Opportunity Zone is an economically distressed community where new investments, under certain conditions, may be eligible for preferential tax treatment. Localities qualify as Opportunity Zones if they have been nominated for that designation by the state and that nomination has been certified by the Secretary of the U.S. Treasury via his delegation of authority to the Internal Revenue Service. There are six cities with a total of seven Opportunity Zones in Greater Des Moines (DSM).


Opportunity Zones exist in the following communities. Click on a map for more information about each zone:

Des Moines 




West Des Moines