A- A+

Des Moines Young Artists' Theatre Presents "Bring It On" Featuring a Score by Hamilton's Lin-Manuel Miranda

July 16, 2018

DES MOINES — Des Moines Young Artists’ Theatre presents an electrifying pop musical from the creators of Hamilton, Next to Normal, and Avenue Q.

Based on the popular film series from Universal, Bring It On is an explosive musical about competitive cheerleading, fierce rivalries, and learning who your real friends are. Campbell (Marisa Spahn, 2017 Iowa High School Musical Theatre Awards Triple Threat Winner) is cheer-royalty at Truman High School and her senior year should prove the most cheertastic — she’s been named captain of the squad! But, an unexpected redistricting has forced her to spend her final year of high school at the neighboring hard-knock Jackson High School. Despite having the deck stacked against her, Campbell befriends the dance crew girls and, along with their headstrong and hardworking leader, Danielle (DMYAT newcomer Antonesia Williams), manages to form a powerhouse squad for the ultimate competition—the National Championships.

With stunning routines and a score that blends pop/rock, hip-hop and soul, Bring It On promises to be one of the most exciting and explosive theatre events this summer.

Bring It On features 27 students from across Central Iowa: Kyralee Berg, Nick Black, Heaven Booker*, Michael Bundy II, Mikala Clark*, Emily Devick, Emma Feldhans, Natalie Grote, Elyse Hall*, Albert Jones Jr.*, Sara Kottra*, Nathan Krusemark*, Marco Masteller, Peter Noll, Stan Przedlacki*, Nawal Rai*, Rachel Reidburn*, Maddie Ripperger*, Jacob Ruperto*, Daisy Saldana*, Grace Sopko*, Marisa Spahn, Heather Stout*, Tanner Tillotson*, Brady Welch*, Tyler White*, Antonesia Williams*. Asterisks denote DMYAT debuts.

Director & Choreographer

Megan Helmers

Music Director

Taylor Anne Weaver

Assistant Choreographer & Cheer Coach

Haley Melz

Stage Manager

Brittany Beridon

Scenic Designer

Carter Bricker-Smith

Costume Designer

Emily Ganfield

Lighting Designer

Ty Klobassa & Erica Spiller

Sound Designer

Brandon Kair

Props Designer

Susan Sheriff

Assistant Director

Tiffany Waggoner

Assistant Music Director

Anastasia Deace

Assistant Stage Managers

Tatum Clayburn & Olivia Gorden


Spencer Gilbert & Terri Steinmann

Artistic Director

David A. VanCleave

Tickets are $18-23 and are available through the Des Moines Performing Arts ticket office, website (www.desmoinesperformingarts.org), or by phone (515.246.2300).


7:30PM Friday, July 27

2:00PM Saturday, July 28
7:30PM Saturday, July 28

2:00PM Sunday, July 29

7:30PM Thursday, August 2

7:30PM Friday, August 3

2:00PM Saturday, August 4

7:30PM Saturday, August 4

2:00PM Sunday, August 5

About Des Moines Young Artists' Theatre

Des Moines Young Artists' Theatre is a nonprofit organization committed to introducing students and their families to the transformative power of live theatre and the arts. DMYAT’s 2017-2018 season (Hairspray Jr., I Never Saw Another Butterfly and Bring It On)  has provided performance, directorial and design opportunities to over 200 students from across the Des Moines metro and surrounding areas. Our students come from approximately 100 schools, including Ames, Ankeny, Baxter, Clive, Colfax, Dallas Center-Grimes, Des Moines, Indianola, Johnston, Knoxville, Pleasantville, Prairie City, Southeast Polk, Waukee, West Des Moines and more. DMYAT is committed to training young performers in all areas of theatre and nurturing the next generation to create thought-provoking and challenging works of art to promote social change.