A- A+

Pearson And Crowell Named Chairs Of Transit Future Work Group

October 5, 2015

Don Pearson, President of the Great Plains Region for Wells Fargo & Co., and Eric Crowell, President and CEO of UnityPoint Health - Des Moines, have been named co-chairs of the Transit Future Work Group. The work group is a collaborative effort of the Greater Des Moines Partnership, the Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization, the Des Moines Area Regional Transit Authority, the City of Des Moines and Urban Land Institute Iowa. The Transit Future Work Group was formed to address potential transportation challenges while identifying opportunities and potential solutions for transit in Greater Des Moines. 

Pearson and Crowell are strong regional leaders who understand the importance of advancing Central Iowa’s amenities for the benefit of our region’s employers and residents to keep Greater Des Moines competitive on an international scale.

“Our region continues to receive high rankings, including the Forbes ranking as the No. 1 City for Young Professionals,” Pearson said. “This work group is another great example of our business, community and civic leaders coming together to actively make Greater Des Moines a best-in-class region.”

“We know that having adequate access to use multiple modes of transportation, whether it be driving, walking, riding a bicycle or taking public transportation, is important for our workforce and residents,” said Crowell. “This is a chance for our region to find common ground solutions as our community continues to grow in population, amenities and prestige.”

About the Transit Future Work Group

The Transit Future Work Group will be comprised of regional business, community and civic leaders, including Marty Martin, President of Drake University, and Jeff Rommel, President of P&C Independent Distribution at Nationwide. Some members of the work group have recently traveled to Grand Rapids to learn more about the region’s transportation options and plan to travel this month to Kansas City.